Christmas Slip Covers Tutorial

I’ve realized lately that I am a very functional blog post namer.  I try to come up with something cute but I always end up with a name that literally tells what I’m about to do.  Oh well!

Christmas Pillow Slip Cover Tutorial

Anyway, welcome to anyone who is here reading for the Sew McCool’s 12 Days of Christmas Holiday Blogger Challenge!

In this post, I’m going to show you a fun Christmas tutorial!! How to make slip covers for your couch pillow to add a little hoiday charm to your living room.  I guess it would really be adding a little more holiday charm, since, you know, there’s usually a very large tree in the living room also.

Anyway, the beautiful thing about slip covers is that you can slide them over whatever pillows you have, without even taken the covers off of the them.  Then, when the holidays are over, un-slip cover them and voila! Your couch is back to normal!

So let’s begin!

First, I’m going to go through making a simple slip cover.  After that, I’ll show you how I did all the detail pillows!

Materials! You are going to need:

  • A couple yards of fabric (I bought two yards of muslin for the sparkly pillow and the chalkboard pillow and had tons left over. I bought 1/2 yard of red for the Santa pillow and had just a little left over and I had the plaid fabric in my stash)
  • Matching threads
  • Fabric Paint in black and white (for chalkboard pillow and black for Santa’s Belt)
  • Glitter ribbon (for Glitter pillow and Santa’s belt)

For the Basic Pillow Slip Cover

First measure the pillow you are going to cover. The pillow I have here is 16″ x 16″.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Now you are going to cut out one square of fabric that is the measurement of your pillow, so 16″ x 16″.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

For the back, you are  going to have to do a little simple math.  Because the back is going to over lap in the center, you are going to have to cut two pieces with an added 2″.  So first you divide one side in half.  Half of 16 is 8.  Then you add 2″. So for my pillow we are up to 10″. Here I added 1/2 so I could have a little seam allowance to make a double fold for the open side, so that brings it up to 10 1/2″.

That means, my I will cut two 16″ x 10 1/2″ squares.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Now you are going to finish the edges of the opening of your over lapping back pieces.  On one of the 16″ sides, I fold once by 1/4″ and then again by 1/4″ and then sew down that edge. Repeat with the remaining back piece (in mirror image if you used a fabric with a obvious right and wrong side).

pillowTutorial-03

Now you are going to lay your square piece down first, with right side up. Then, lay one back panel down (with right side facing the right of pillow front).  Align raw edges of panel.  The finished edge will be in the center.  Lay the other panel on the other side in the same manner, as shown in the picture below.  Pin and sew around the outside of the square, about 1/4″ from the edge.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Clip your corners and turn right side out and you are done with a basic slip cover!! This is what I used to make the plaid pillow.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Glitter Pillow

Cut out the squares as per the basic slip cover instructions.

Now cut lots of glitter ribbon to the width of you pillow front.  In this case, 16″.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Once you have cut enough ribbon to cover the whole pillow front, go to your sewing machine.

Lay your first piece right along the raw edge and stitch close to the edge.

Overlap your second piece and stitch on the edge of ribbon, making sure to catch the edge of first ribbon in the stitching.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

I didn’t use any pins during this process, which made it go a lot faster!

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Continue on with this process until the whole pillow is covered.  It doesn’t have to be perfect! I would stop every so often to check if my ribbons were straight.  If they were a little off, I would sew the next few leaning the other way to correct it.

When your done, you will need to trim the ribbon edges before attaching the back. The picture below is my untrimmed front.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Attach the back as the basic instructions say! And done with pillow number two!!

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Santa Pillow

Again cut out the pillow pieces out of red fabric as the original instructions say.

Lay your front piece out flat.  Find the center and make a 2″ wide band on the center front.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Use painters tape to mark off the center so you will have a nice clean paint line.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Paint inside the lines. Remove the tape before the paint gets to dry so that it doesn’t get stuck.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Allow time for the paint to dry.  I allowed 24 hours but I think the back of the paint said 4 hours would be plenty.  Just being safe 😉

After it’s dry, we are going to make the belt!

First, decide how wide you want the belt to be.  I wanted 3″ in the center so, because my ribbon was about an 1″ thick, I cut out two 5″ pieces of ribbon.  Center them over the belt (I went about 14/” above and below the belt’s edge). Pin them in place,

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Once the first two pieces are pinned, cut ribbon to the right length to fill in the sides.  I didn’t measure this, I just layed the ribbon in and cut.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Pin these pieces in place.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Stitch around the inner and outer edges to finish the belt!

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Now sew the pillow backs to the front, clip corners and turn right side out and you are done again!!

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Chalkboard Pillow

And now for my favorite pillow.

You are going to cut the pillow pieces out to your pillow size.  I did a long pillow on this.  I can’t remember exactly but I think it was 8″x13″.

Lay out your pillow front.  First you are going to pain the whole thing black with the black fabric paint.  Then you are going to go back in with the white and whiten some of the areas up (before the black is totally dry) to make it look like the chalkboard has been written on before.

Here is a link to a time lapse video of me painting my cover.  Wordpress wont let me post it on my blog :/

Now let this dry.  Again, I did 24 hours and this time it might actually take that amount of time since there is a lot of paint.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Now I went in with pencil and sketched my “Happy Holiday” design.  Remember that it doesn’t have to be perfect.  You use your own handwriting on a real chalfboard so use your best handwriting on the pillow and it will look great!

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Once your pencil sketch is done, take a thin paint brush and white paint and start painting. I actually don’t have any picture of the painting process because it was not very interesting.  just me painting over the light pencil drawings I had made.

I added dots around the words to look like snow flakes.  Then I let this dry.  It didn’t take very long, maybe 20 minutes since it wasn’t a thick layer of paint.

I then attached the front and back as the original instructions said.  Put my pillow in it and DONE!!!!

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

That’s all of the pillows!!

Here is a picture of the pillow inside the slip cover.  As you can see, I didn’t take the original slip cover off of the pillow.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

Also, I wrote the dimensions on the pillow inside in permanent marker so that I will know which pillow to put them on next year.

Christmas Slip Cover Tutorial by Ginger House Designs

That’s all for today! Thank you all for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed this tutorial! Next week, I will be posting the tutorial for Molly’s shirt! To get a better view, check this post out!

Molly on Couch with Pillows

This post is a part of Sew McCool’s 12 Days of Christmas Holiday Blogger Challenge! You can pop over there and see all of the tutorials and when the blog tour is done, you can vote on your favorite Holiday tutorial!

12-Days-of-Christmas-Holiday-Blogger-Challenge-with-sewmccool.com-large

Don’t forget to visit all of the bloggers who are creating tutorials for the Sew McCool 12 Days of Christmas challenge! Voting will begin on www.sewmccool.com on December 13 and go through 11:59 p.m. U.S. Eastern time on December 20. The blogger with the most votes will win $100 – just in time for Christmas!
December 1
December 2
Natalie @ Sew Outnumbered *Deby @ So-Sew-Easy * Ajaire @ Call Ajaire
December 3
December 4
December 5
Beth @ Beth Jarrett * Jen @ Just Joshin
December 6
December 7
December 8
Addie @ Addie K * Michelle @ Not My Tree
December 9
Ula @ Lulu & Celeste * Sara @ Made By Sara * Chelsea @ GYCT Designs
December 10
Nichole @ Bluebird & the Boy * Darcy @ Ginger House Designs * Shelly @ Coral & Co.
December 11
December 12
Maegen @ Mae and K * Jess @ Gracious Threads * Jone @ Knot Sew Normal
4 thoughts on “Christmas Slip Covers Tutorial

Leave a Reply

