My First Quilt!!

Faux Chenille Quilt

One of my cousins (and a couple others and a even a few other people in my life…) just found out that they are having a baby!! It’s their first and it’s super exciting!!  As soon as I heard the news, I started on this baby blanket.

Faux Chenille Blanket

I used the tutorial for the faux chenille blanket from Made and it was very to follow.

Faux Chenille Blanket

Sewing the quilting lines was the “hardest” thing about this quilt. And it wasn’t hard exactly.  Just tedious.

Faux Chenille Blanket

But cutting the layers to make the faux chenille was very fun. I would cut few layers and then picking it up to watch how the drape of the blanket changed just by a few cut lines! And I love any project that I can take into the living room and watch a show while doing (we just finished up Doctor Who and I don’t know what to watch next! Any Netflix recommendations? I’m watching Gilmore Girls as my laundry folding day time show but Ed refuses to watch that one with me).

Faux Chenille Blanket

The layers aren’t as ruffled up as I would like them to be but the more it gets used and washed and dried the more it will ruffle!

Faux Chenille Blanket

So, now, I guess I have to make about 3 more of these since everyone in my family is having babies next summer (not me though! I have other exciting things that I will get to share very very soon!).

 

2 thoughts on “My First Quilt!!

Leave a Reply

