80’s Cartoon Look: Care Bears Outfit

I love Project Run and Play! I have followed and voted every season since Molly was born. This will be the second time that I’m sewing along with it! Anyway, the first weeks theme is 80s Cartoon Inspired.

Care Bears Outfit by Ginger House Designs

I have to admit that this one was a real challenge for me.  I was born at the end of the 80s so most of the cartoons I knew and loved from childhood are 90s cartoons, Rugrats, Tiny Toons, Ren and Stimpy, Hey Arnold… You get the point. I did, however, love Care Bears.  And my favorite little bear was Grumpy Bear!  My best friend Ellie and I used to play Care Bears and I was always Grumpy and she was Funshine Bear.

Care Bears Outfit by Ginger House Designs

So since I loved Grumpy so much, I took a lot of inspiration from him.  I used the heart-and-rain-drop rain that comes out of his cloud on his tummy symbol and used fabric markers to draw them all over the tunic in a pattern.  I created a paper stencil so they would all be the same size and shape.

Care Bears Outfit by Ginger House Designs

The tunic itself is self-drafted with a open back, a flounce around the bottom and a frayed hem. The whole top is flowy and drapey to give it the appearance of a cloud and I decided to go with a frayed hem to give it a floaty, cloud-like look as well. I used muslin fabric for the top, both because of the plain color which is perfect for drawing on with fabric markers and the price point.

Care Bears Outfit by Ginger House Designs

The leggings are my favorite part.  They are made using the Oliver + S Playtime leggings pattern and I used a men’s large white t-shirt for the fabric.  Once I cut out the leggings pieces from the shirt, I used the fabric markers and a ruler to draw lines on the leggings to make up the rainbow stripes.  It took a couple nights of line drawling while I watched Doctor Who with Ed 🙂

Care Bears Outfit by Ginger House Designs

I love leggings because they are such an essential part of a little girl’s wardrobe (or at least, of this little girl’s wardrobe).  This pattern is awesome because they are seriously so fast to sew up.  One I had drawn the lines, they came together into leggings during the first half of nap time!

Care Bears Outfit by Ginger House Designs

I did run into few problems while sewing up the tunic but nothing that you can’t get through with a little creativity and ingenuity. I had to be especially creative since I had to finish it on vacation, at a cabin… with no other sewing amenities other than the things I brought! Ha! Well that was a real challenge! Haha!

Care Bears Outfit by Ginger House Designs

12 thoughts on “80’s Cartoon Look: Care Bears Outfit

  1. Darcy- love love the leggings but the flowing back is a great touch. the whole look
    is very creative and is actually an outfit that is wearable and not just for show.

  2. very cute!! I love the frayed hem…. fun outfit for play! I’m currently hosting a sewing series called Sew Many Books. there is a sew a long {with prizes!} If you have sewed anything inspired by a book in 2014 I’d love to have you join! Hop over to Nap-Time Creations and check out the series! Emily

  3. Such perfect inspiration! Your fabric turned out great and I love the shape of the back of the tunic! I’m currently knee deep in leggings production since the weather turned cool and I love these striped ones!

Leave a Reply

